Wanderings of an artist in the trenches.

Procreate and Pogo Connect Stylus


Thought I’d post a few new Procreate images for you. I’ve still been having a blast with Procreate and have now been playing with the Pogo Connect Stylus and absolutely loving it. It allows me to have pressure sensitivity while drawing and painting in the program. Procreate is designed to work with the Pogo. 

I’m not really a digital artist but I have to say that it’s been a lot of fun playing in Procreate. The program totally gets out of the way and just let’s me concentrate on the work. It’s super intuitive. 

These images were each done in about an hour or so with multiple layers, flattening then working further. At some point, if there’s interest, I can throw up a step-by-step of my process. I do make my own brushes in Procreate, and with the newest update they’ve made it possible to share brushes as well. Very cool!

Anyway, hope you like these as much as I enjoyed doing them!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 responses

  1. Very neat. You definitely push the exaggerations further in your digital work than in your traditional stuff. It’s great to see.

    You keep making me want to pick up an iPad just to play with this thing.

    February 9, 2013 at 6:01 PM

    • Thanks, Vincent. I’m definitely trying to wig these characters out a bit. It would be fun to get more of this into my traditional stuff for sure. We’ll see. Everything feeds everything else.

      February 9, 2013 at 6:22 PM

  2. I agree with Vincent the exaggerations are really fun to see!

    Also makes me want to play with more textures in my digital work~

    February 10, 2013 at 1:07 PM

    • Thanks, Allison! Caricature isn’t easy, at least for me anyway. Glad these are finding an audience. Just playing, but happy with them.

      February 10, 2013 at 8:06 PM

  3. Thanks for posting this! I’m considering purchasing a Pogo Connect but I was looking for representative images or works created by someone who works with traditional media. :)

    February 26, 2013 at 2:12 PM

  4. Wow! Superb!

    June 3, 2013 at 4:15 PM

  5. Kody

    It looks kind of like you’re laying down darker colors as a base and then adding flesh tones with a variation of the damp brush or perhaps the chalk brush. I really like the color palette and the texture.

    October 25, 2013 at 5:58 PM

    • Hey, Kody,

      Thanks for writing in.

      I typically work digitally (which isn’t often) in the way I learned how to oil paint with wet grounds. I’ll set my background to a particular color (totally gut reaction on the choice) and then build lighter and darker. I like throwing in what should be strange colors just to see how they work.

      I have a brush I created that feels like a sumi brush and I use that quite a bit along with the charcoal brush. Usually only one to three layers, max.

      I’ve been taking screen grabs of process and plan on posting that at some point.

      Anyway, glad you like the work. I’m just having fun, really, without any preconceptions of what I want from these things. More just playtime. :)

      October 26, 2013 at 10:12 AM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers