Wanderings of an artist in the trenches.

Paris – Part Five


Okay, more shots!

Rembrandt time! Rembrandt never ceases to amaze me with his skill, certainly, but also because of the humble nature of his work. As Raphael Soyer wrote in his wonderful book “A Painter’s Pilgrimage,” “I felt Rembrandt in the room with me.”

And it’s true, standing before those self-portraits one can feel Rembrandt standing beside you. Those kindly, sad eyes never fail to open my heart and release within me a flood of emotion. Since I was a child I have responded powerfully to Rembrandt’s work and that power he has over me has not faded over time. If anything it grows stronger.


Since Rembrandt is one of my all time favorite artists, I stopped at the above portrait to do a sketch in my sketchbook. Carl shot a few pics of me working.


The angle that I shot the sketch below makes his face look too thin. I’ll scan it later at home for a better representation.

More coming up…

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

2 responses

  1. A Rembrandt via Pratt! This night just got better.

    December 22, 2010 at 1:28 AM

  2. Eli M.

    I still can’t believe how much range you get out of those pens. Love the new blog man!

    December 28, 2010 at 5:49 PM

Leave a Reply

