Wanderings of an artist in the trenches.

Paris – Part Seven


We got back to the hotel after fighting through piles of people swamping the subway cars. Getting our stuff and fighting those same crowds to get to the signing was not going to be fun. But we managed to get to the gallery on time regardless. There were already people waiting for me so I got right to sketches and signing.

Again, a great time was had by all. I got some fun sketches done and we sold several of the prints I’d brought with me as well as a couple of the portfolios. Everyone was incredibly nice and patient and I was able to get through everyone in the allotted couple of hours we had before Carl and I had to leave in order to catch our train back to Brussels. When we left it was snowing even harder and there were delays with the trains. We waited about an hour or longer for our train to finally leave. But we did get back safely.

This is the first trip to Belgium where I did not hit the countryside and visit the World War One sites. I miss going to Ypres and seeing the Last Post at the Menin Gate, or visiting the cemetery of Peter Kollwitz, Kathe Kollwitz’s son. But, I did finally see the Louvre and meet some incredibly nice people, which more than outweigh the other. I’m looking forward to coming back some time in the future.

As usual Carl Wykaert was the consummate host and spent so much of his precious time away from his family to make sure that I had a smooth time of it all. Thanks to his lovely wife for loaning him out for so long.

I’ve already packed and will be hitting the sack after these get posted. A long flight back tomorrow and then home again home again. As you can probably tell by the shortness of the text that I’m pretty wiped out. I’ll wrap up the trip either on the plane or after I get back.

More later…

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

2 responses

  1. It’s been great reading through this new blog George. Your images as well as your words are as enjoyable and inspiring as ever.

    January 1, 2011 at 9:54 PM

    • Thanks very much, Guy! Glad you’re enjoying the blog!
      George

      January 13, 2011 at 6:40 PM

Leave a Reply

