Wanderings of an artist in the trenches.

Spontaneous Painting Video Online


A small plug for a video of a spontaneous oil painting demonstration I did at The Art Department (TAD) this last summer after the Illustration Academy. It’s of a doughboy (big surprise! 🙂 I was in World War One painting mode for my show in Belgium/Paris. ) and I just dove in without a drawing and let the painting sort of go where it wanted to.

Here’s a quote from the Concept Art site:

“Calling The Shots:
Spontaneous Painting with George Pratt

In this download, watch renowned graphic novelist George Pratt paint a WWI soldier at the first ever TAD workshop in Kansas City, MO.

In order to keep the entire painting process alive and invigorated, George begins without a thumbnail or a toned canvas. With nothing fixed, this puts him directly in the driver’s seat as he works. At the same time he is also listening to the painting, and at one point even comments that his favorite parts of a painting are often accidents. This push and pull is a unique part of George’s style, and he generously shares the decades of experience that inform his decisions.

As this video was recorded in classroom setting, George also responds to the questions of the students around him, providing the viewer with an added level of insight. If you’ve never seen a George Pratt demo you’ll definitely want to pick this up. If you have, then you already know you want to pick this one up.”

h.264 70 minutes 1280×720
$20.00

trailer:


shopping cart:

http://www.payloadz.com/go?id=1410753

The painting gets very far for a one-sitting demonstration, as you can see in the shot above. The soldier is to be tearing barbed wire off of his body, and when I get the piece back I’ll add that and finish the thing.

Anyway, I hope it helps sort of take the fear and mystery out of oil painting for some.

George

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

5 responses

  1. Eli M.

    Looking forward to downloading this. I’ve seen you paint a bunch already, though I always seem to learn something new every time.

    February 15, 2011 at 2:03 AM

  2. I can’t wait to see the video George!!

    February 15, 2011 at 4:29 PM

  3. chris

    Fantastic….

    February 17, 2011 at 8:24 PM

  4. Caterisano

    When I watched this video, I could smell oil paint. I miss you Pratt! Hope you’re doing well.

    March 16, 2011 at 12:43 AM

  5. Ben

    Love this video and I have watched it many times! I have learned a lot from watching you push the paint around and design on the fly. Good stuff! Hope there are more like this on the way.

    June 7, 2011 at 6:02 PM

Leave a Reply

