Wanderings of an artist in the trenches.

GEORGEPRATT.COM Website Total Overhaul


The new face of GeorgePratt.com

It’s been years, really, since I’ve made an effort to post to my www.georgepratt.com website, much less do a complete overhaul of the thing. The main reason was the thought of having to go back into Dreamweaver and mess with all that was just too daunting for me. The other reason has been that I really enjoyed the simplicity of this blog and being able to just fire away and post things pretty much effortlessly. But I knew that I would have to take the plunge sometime. Obviously it’s been later rather than sooner. But better late than never!

I migrated the site to Squarespace and I have to say that it’s so much more enjoyable than messing with Dreamweaver. If I could have kept my site at it’s original host Dreamhost I would have. They’ve been incredible, really. They still will manage my domain name and all. But in order to utilize Squarespace one has to work with their setup. But it’s been flawless.

I hope you’ll take the time to scope everything out. I’ve expanded the site and have hopefully broken it down into manageable chunks according to media and projects.

GeorgePratt.com Navigation

There’s a sizeable sketchbook section where I’m constantly scanning my sketchbooks and posting.

A constantly growing sketchbook section!

And I’ve also updated to include a Shop where you can purchase original art, prints and books. It’s in its infancy, but is growing constantly.

The Shop has Fine Art…


Watercolors in the Shop.


Drawings in the Shop


Monotypes in the Shop

 

Black.Light

Next to that is the Sequential Art Shop where you can see work from my graphic novels and mini-series. I’ve already posted lots of panels from my Wolverine: Netsuke mini-series from Marvel, and a pile of Batman licensing art. I will be posting work from Batman: Harvest Breed as well, though these are mostly fully painted pages, rather than just panels.

The Sequential Art Shop has cover work and content from Graphic Novels and Mini-Series.



Above the Dreamless Dead originals in the Sequential Art Shop


Wolverine: Netsuke


Batman


Magic Card Originals

 

Anyway, I welcome comments and suggestions about the site and I hope you enjoy perusing it all.

3 responses

  1. The new site looks great, George. Real glad you made the jump. I really dig Squarespace for my own site…they make it so even a technotard like me can tinker with it and not have it explode.

    Your work is always an inspiration, whether I see it in person or on a screen. It’s good to have it all in one spot.

    Finally someplace shiny to send people to when they want to see your work!

    September 1, 2014 at 1:11 PM

    • Vincent,

      Thanks, man! Only…WHY DIDN’T YOU TELL ME ABOUT SQUARESPACE!!! Ha ha! They are great. I’ve enjoyed putting it all together. Time-consuming but ultimately worth it. So far so good.

      You’ve always been there scoping out the site and commenting here on the blog. Thanks for your commitment and support of my stuff.

      Glad you’re back in Florida!

      September 2, 2014 at 1:37 AM

  2. I had no idea you did Magic cards from way back, wow!

    June 2, 2015 at 8:29 PM

Leave a Reply

